My Weight Loss Journey: The Beginning

I get asked all the time about why I decided to lose weight. The first thought that comes to mind is “Are you blind?” But with much restraint, I don’t say that! I always have to stop and think for a second what to tell them because there isn’t just one reason. There are several reasons I have, the least being about appearance.

fb_img_1432178787234-1

All my life I have been a little above average size. Not obese, not skinny minnie, just a little overweight. Being 4’11 is not easy. 10 pounds overweight on someone this height might as well be 40! I was always pretty active; marching band, living in the Sunshine state. However, I was never viewed average, I was overweight to everyone.

Now fast forward to 2005. I weighed 140 pounds, not terrible, but for my height I was 30 pounds overweight. At the same time, I found out I was pregnant with my first daughter. After she was born via cesarean, I weighed 175 pounds-yikes!! I started to exercise and promised myself that I would never get over 200 pounds….I would die before that happened. Well, guess what happened? I broke my promise.

At the end of November 2007 , I was pregnant again with my second daughter. This pregnancy  was dreadful and the most difficult thing I ever went through. I was sick my entire pregnancy. Everyday, I felt weak and sick to my stomach, but I still gained weight. My daughter was also diagnosed with health problems during the pregnancy as well. Lots of stress! When she was born I weighed 260 pounds. I cried for days! I was so depressed. I felt ugly and like a failure. People treated me differently, except my husband. He always told me how beautiful I was…everyday! That helps, but when you don’t see it, its hard to believe.

In 2009, I finally got enough motivation to start on this weight loss journey. We got a Wii, which came with some fitness games. It was fun and was helping me to lose weight. I went up and down for the next year, but I got down to 250 pounds. Then, in 2010 it happened again. I found out that I was pregnant with my 3rd daughter. I didn’t care much about weight gain, I was super excited. I was more active during this pregnancy. I did gain a lot of weight, and some was fluid and baby, but the scale doesn’t count it separate! After I had my daughter (you might want to sit down for this), I weighed 305 pounds. No I didn’t type that wrong. I was shocked to say the very least. I was determined more than ever to lose this weight. I needed to be healthy for my family, so began the journey!

I started exercising to Zumba. I have to say, man it was exhausting, but so much fun. I started with the game for the Wii. I changed my diet, cut down my portions, and cut out sugar. I literally ate egg whites and turkey bacon for months. In 2012, I got down to 227 pounds! I was so proud of myself! I had more confidence, had more energy, and felt great!

You know how the story goes. When things are going good, something always comes and throws you for a loop. In December 2012, my mother came to visit with us for Christmas. She was very sick, and looked horrible. Over the next 6 months, she lived with us and I helped her. She finally got a clean bill of health, and then tragedy struck. She had a massive stroke, and passed away a week later. I was devastated. I didn’t care about losing weight, or anything for that matter. I shot back up to 285 pounds. When I finally stopped my grief from ruining my life, I could focus on my life again. In mind, I was getting back to normal, but my body was not.

In 2014, I was still 280-285 pounds. Now, I felt sick and weak. I was diagnosed with

diabetes, low iron, high cholesterol, and a string of other problems. The doctor looked at me with shame, like I was abusing myself. I was not going to give these doctors the satisfaction of being another statistic. Not only that, I didn’t want to end up like my mother and dying from a stroke at age 49. So, I flushed all the medication they gave me and was going to get to work. I went back on my diet, exercised everyday, and kept God in charge of everything. I knew that with Him I could do anything!

I started and little by little the pounds were coming off. My labs were getting better. I was feeling better! I got the Zumba Exhilarate DVD set for Christmas 2015. It was amazing! I loved it! On January 1st 2016, I managed to get down to 247 pounds. I made a goal for 2016 to get down to 180 pounds, I was being ambitious of course, but that’s what goals are really about.

Now, It is December 2016, and January is coming up in a hurry. I am not sure if I will make my goal, but I am going to work harder than I ever have before. As of December 1st, I now weigh 193 pounds! I can’t believe that in 2011, I weighed 305 pounds and lost 112 pounds, and just in one year have lost 59 pounds! I am still in awe of what is possible when God is on your side! I am hoping 2017 brings more weight loss success for me and others like me. It has really changed my life. I now have people saying that I inspired them to do the same in their life. Me? Inspire someone? That is not comprehensible to me because I don’t feel like an inspiration to anyone. I tell people “Don’t be inspired by me, I didn’t do it; God did!”

img_20161129_200916.jpg

16 thoughts on “My Weight Loss Journey: The Beginning

  1. Deanna Fugett says:

    Way to go! You look amazing! Wow. I understand being short and gaining weight. I would love to hear updates about your progress in the upcoming months! You are inspiring! I’ve only tried Zumba once and I enjoyed it. You make me want to try it again. 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Anonymous says:

    It is an honor to know you, know about your family and what an awesome Mother you are. You are in inspiration to so many, including me. I’m going to ask for Zumba for Christmas (my husband will have to arrange to tech side to setting it up, and I’m going dance like no one is watching! lol I’ve always loved to dance, just felt too out of shape to do it lately. We love you Jennifer, and are thankful for the place you have in our family. Much love and Christmas blessings to you, sweet lady!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

